Top 20 Gluten Free Foods List

Top 20 Gluten Free Foods List

Do you have gluten intolerance? Are you worried that you have Coeliac disease? These health conditions are a lifelong disease that cannot be cured completely. The only way to alleviate this condition is to have a gluten free diet. This type of diet may seem difficult to follow at first, but with the right knowledge about gluten free foods, you can make it a whole lot easier for you. There are a variety of healthy, nutritious, and delicious foods that are free from gluten. Here is our top gluten free food list that you can include in your daily diet. Fresh Fruits and Vegetables

Fresh Fruits and Vegetables

The local produce such as fresh vegetables and fruits are always gluten free. However, when buying processed fruits and vegetables in the grocery or food market, you should always read the labels first. Remember to check out the dried fruits if they are also gluten free. Packaged and frozen vegetables, especially the potatoes are too risky because they are not always gluten free. You have to make it a habit to always read the labels carefully when buying these products. Plus, everyone knows that you need more fruits and vegetables into your diet because they are the healthiest option. If you care about your health and you want a gluten free diet, you should definitely buy the freshest produce in your local marketplace.

Cereals as a gluten free foodCereals

Many people love to eat cereals in the morning. However, there are several cereals that contain wheat-based ingredients or gluten. Fortunately, there are cereals that are gluten free. All you need to do is to always read the label and check if it really is gluten free. It is also important to check the ingredients on the box because some of the cereals do not advertise that they are gluten free. You may want to avoid puffed rice cereals or cornflake cereals, because they usually contain malt flavoring, which has gluten in it.

Oats as a gluten free foodOats

A study has shown that pure and uncontaminated oats eaten in moderation by people with celiac disease can be tolerated. Again, when buying oats, or even granola bars, you have to read the label and check if it really is gluten free. The downside for oats is that they are often harvested and processed using the same equipment for wheat, which can contaminate the oats.

Alcoholic BeveragesAlcoholic Beverages

When it comes to alcoholic beverages, wines and liquors are safe to consume. Some of the gluten-free alcohols include wine, cider, port, and sherry. However, other alcoholic beverages such as beers, lagers, and ales that use grains as the main ingredients may contain gluten. The grains being used for beers contain gluten, thus making the beer not gluten-free. The good news is that you can still find beers that are gluten free available here and abroad. Just make sure to read the label to see if the beer is really gluten-free.

Rice as a gluten free foodRice

Eating rice is very safe. Whether you like white rice, brown rice, basmati rice, or black rice, it will be gluten free, provided it has not been contaminated during the processing and cooking. The glutinous rice or sticky rice is also gluten free and it is only called glutinous because of its glue-like consistency. However, try to avoid those flavored rice mixes because they usually contain gluten. Sushi rice should also be avoided because they are mixed with grain-based vinegar. It is better to prepare your own sushi to ensure that there is no gluten. In conclusion, plain rice is a much-recommended addition to your gluten free diet.

Corn as a gluten free foodCorn

Plain corn or corn on the cob will always be on the list of gluten free foods. So if you are sensitive to gluten, you don’t have to worry about eating corn. As long as the corn is not contaminated during its preparation and processing, then corn shouldn’t contain any gluten. In addition, many corn canned products are safe from gluten ingredients. However, you should still check the label and its ingredients. Other foods made from corn may not be gluten free, such as corn muffins because it contains wheat flour. Remember that plain corn on the cob is a safe bet, and it is also better if your corn dishes are prepared at home to ensure no gluten ingredients are included.

potatoes as a gluten free food

Potatoes

If you like potatoes, then you won’t have to worry about gluten. Potatoes may have a starchy texture, but they are absolutely gluten-free. You should always include potatoes in your dishes, and even use it as a substitute for the ingredients that are not gluten free. However, the more elaborate cooking you do with them and make them more delicious, the closer they are to being no longer gluten free. One example is baking potatoes in the oven, where the same oven rack was used for baking gluten-filled pizzas or doughs. In restaurants, the chefs or cooks coat the potato skin with flour and butter to make them crispier, which already contaminates the potato with gluten.

Quinoa as a gluten free foodQuinoa

Quinoa is popular among people who are already eating mostly gluten free foods. Quinoa is a pseudocereal seed that is usually preferred by many as a gluten free substitute. It is a common staple in South America. With more people trying to stay healthy and avoiding gluten, quinoa has gained a reputation as a good alternative to wheat and other grains containing gluten. Quinoa, in its purest form, is gluten free, but the problem is always cross contamination with other grain based foods. Quinoa may be processed in facilities that also process grains such as rye, wheat, and barley.


Amaranth as a gluten free foodAmaranth

Amaranth is a seed that came from Mexico and it was considered as a staple food of the Mayans and Aztecs. It is a great source of iron, fiber, and calcium and it has a malty, nutty, and slightly sweet flavor. You can grind it to make a four or cook it as a whole seed. You can cook it as a breakfast cereal or toast it in a skillet until it pops, just like a popcorn. You can also add them to your soups or stew to thicken it. Just make sure you are also using gluten free ingredients when cooking with Amaranth.

SorghumSorghum

Sorghum is slowly becoming known as one of the top gluten free foods today. It is a cereal grain that came from Africa. Aside from being gluten free, it is also rich in protein, iron, and fiber. It has a similarity with popcorn because it can also be popped and eaten as a snack. Sorghum has a very mild and nutty flavor that both kids and adults will like. It has a chewy texture that resembles farro or wheat berries. You can prepare it as a quick grain bowl or make your own delicious sorghum salad with spices, herbs, and carrots.

Cassava as a gluten free foodCassava

Cassava is another great option to include in your gluten free food list. Cassava is a shrub root that grows in South America but it can also be found in Africa and other tropical countries. It is similar to wheat and it can also be converted into flour to be used for baking. This is a great substitute if you want to create gluten free baked products. It is high in carbohydrates and it is a good source of resistant starch, which helps promote healthy gastrointestinal tract.

Buckwheat as a gluten free foodBuckwheat

Buckwheat is a seed that can be used like flour. It is a healthy alternative because it is rich in dietary fiber, magnesium, copper, manganese, and phosphorus. It is available as buckwheat flour or you can also buy them in whole grain form. It usually has an earthy and nutty taste when it is roasted. The unroasted buckwheat has a milder flavor. Buckwheat flour can be used as a replacement for wheat flour if you want to create gluten free baked goodies. You can use this type of flour next time when you are making banana bread or waffles.


Beans and Legumes

Beans and Legumes

Beans and legumes are 100% naturally gluten free, but they are also very much at risk of gluten cross-contamination during the processing or cooking stage. Kidney beans, black beans, lentils, pinto beans, black-eyed peas, falafel, and garbanzo beans are very rich in protein. If you are very sensitive to gluten or you have celiac disease, then you should only buy bean products that are truly gluten free. Try to research the most trusted companies that really ensure their beans are not contaminated by gluten.

Meats as a gluten free food

Meats

Almost all meats are gluten free in its natural state. However, the way it is cooked and how it is seasoned and prepared will surely affect its gluten free state. Keeping it all-natural is the best way to eat your meat if you want to maintain a gluten free diet. If you are using sauces to put more flavors into your barbecue or grilled meat, make sure it is also gluten free. Here are some of the meats that are included in the gluten free food list: Beef, Antelope, Alligator, Buffalo, Turkey, Lamb, Quail, Goat, Duck, Venison, Pork, Wild boar, Chicken, Rabbit, Snake.

Hummus as a gluten free foodHummus

The traditional hummus is gluten free, which is made from mashed chickpeas, garlic, lemon juice, and tahini. All the ingredients of hummus are gluten free, which makes it a great addition to your gluten free diet. If you are buying hummus from the grocery, just make sure you read the label and check the ingredients to see if they are gluten free. It is better to find a gluten free recipe and make your own. You can make hummus as a perfect snack dip. Just dip carrot sticks or red bell peppers into your hummus and you have a delicious afternoon snack.


Millet as a gluten free foodMillet

Gluten free foods are always nutritious, just like millet, which contains high levels of iron, fiber, manganese, phosphorus, and B vitamins. It is very easy to digest because it is highly alkaline. You can make it crunchy or mushy, depending on your taste and preference. You can also make your own millet bread, which is gluten free bread that tastes wonderful, especially if it is toasted. You can make your own snack by making an almond butter and jelly sandwich using this gluten free millet bread.

Dairy as a gluten free foodDairy

Dairy products are naturally safe to eat for those who are sensitive to gluten. Just remember to stay away from the flavored variety of dairy products such as flavored yogurts, flavored milk, and some cream cheese. Here are some of the dairy products that are gluten free: Cheese and cottage cheese, Butter, Plain yogurt, Cream, Milk, Whey protein, Sour cream
Teff as a gluten free food

Teff

Teff is a very tiny grain that is high in protein, fiber, and calcium. It has a nutty flavor, which becomes stronger when it is toasted in a skillet before cooking. You can also use teff as a delicious and crunchy garnish to your salad.

Wild Rice

Wild rice is actually a seed and it is not rice. It contains high levels of manganese, phosphorus, fiber, magnesium, folate, vitamin B6, zinc, and niacin. When cooked, it is crunchy on the outside and soft and fluffy on the inside.

Chia Seeds as a gluten free foodChia Seeds

Chia seeds are 100% gluten free. Chia seeds are very nutritious since they contain high levels of omega 3 fatty acids, antioxidants, carbohydrates, calcium, and fiber. Chia seeds can be added to so many gluten free recipes. Add them to your favorite gluten free foods to increase its nutritional value.

Tips for Your Gluten-Free DietTips for Your Gluten-Free Diet

When you are diagnosed with gluten sensitivity, you should begin making positive changes to your diet. Try to eat more fresh fruits and vegetables and gluten free foods that are included in this list. You should also find the right gluten-free substitutes that fit your personal taste. You can experiment with new gluten-free flours and find out if it suits your taste. Ordinary bread, pasta, and crackers contain gluten, but you can still enjoy these foods by switching to the gluten-free alternatives. You can find many gluten-free substitutes for pasta, cereals, and bread. When preparing your food, you should always be aware of cross-contamination of gluten. Clean your kitchen surface and use separate utensils to ensure that your food is always gluten-free.

Top 20 Gluten Free Foods List